PDA

View Full Version : Steam fake e-mail warning


Jarven
08-19-2005, 06:01 PM
Today i recived a mail from "steam"

It said that they were deleting illegal accounts, and will lock every account. If you have a real copy of Counter strike: Source you could unlock your legal account again by sending them your login name and password so they can verify that it's legal.

However it's fake. the e-mail is Steam-powered@hotmail.com but your eye easily misses that part.

I've read at least thousands times that 'we wont send you an e-mail and ask for your password' from different sites, including steampowered.com but still almoust fell into the trap. The mail is proffesionally written and the theme is the same as Steam's so you belive it's official. Don't do my mistake and belive it's real, I found out it was in time, but you may not be as lucky

Grey Fox
08-19-2005, 10:35 PM
Thnx. But now it's time to make a plan to hunt them down and gut them like the animals they are.

321
08-19-2005, 10:58 PM
This happens all the time, I've seen so many of these threads since I started to play Counter-Strike. If the guy gets any accounts it willl be very funny because first it's a hotmail.com account why would Valve use it? Second why would Valve as you for any info, I still wouldn't give them any.

DrunkenPirate
08-20-2005, 02:32 AM
Thanks for posting this, I will forward it onto other forums too.

fubz
08-20-2005, 05:46 AM
I cant wait untill they find out how to fake the email address that it was sent from... its really not that hard to do...

DMC
08-20-2005, 06:52 AM
Good post, thanks for letting us know.

glasseye
08-21-2005, 03:09 PM
good thing i never check my email. :laugh:

`danny
08-21-2005, 04:24 PM
People, companies like VALVe will never send you e-mails like this EVER!

DrunkenPirate
08-22-2005, 12:07 AM
People, companies like VALVe will never send you e-mails like this EVER!
We know, but that does not stop people from falling for it.

H2Yo
08-22-2005, 12:28 AM
There was a big scam in Australia (Maybe other countries too) where people stole the source code for a Bank's website for internet banking but redirected the input fields to email your details to an unknown source, thus the pricks gained details to other peoples accounts. The tricky thing was, the made to site address something like:

https://online.bank.com.au.tk/SignIn+-+bank+online.html

The official site being:

https://online.bank.com.au/SignIn+-+bak+online.html

I guess everyone has to be 100% sure what they are doing before they do anything on the net now a days...